Analyse/tolkning (709) Anmeldelse (bok, film...) (634) Artikkel (927) Biografi (262) Dikt (1036) Essay (552) Eventyr (115) Faktaoppgave (374) Fortelling (833) Kåseri (609) Leserinnlegg (119) Novelle (1310) Rapport (621) Referat (173) Resonnerende (204) Sammendrag av pensum (179) Særemne (155) Særoppgave (337) Temaoppgave (1246) Annet (527)


Bokmål (8053) Engelsk (1612) Fransk (26) Nynorsk (1123) Spansk (11) Tysk (38) Annet (59)

Du er her: Skole > Kenya


Fakta om Kenya. Kronlogisk punktliste.

Lastet opp

The capital city of Kenya is Nairobi. And the official name is Republic of Kenya.
The currency of Kenya is Kenya shilling.
The population is 25.2 million people!
In Kenya they speak Swahili.
Here is a diagram of religion persuasion in Kenya.


From the 10th century, Arab coastal settlers mixed with indigenous peoples in the region. Britain’s need for a route to land- locked Uganda led to the formation in 1895 of the British East African Protectorate in the coastal region.

  • 1900-1918 White settlement of interior; removal of local peoples from land.

  • 1920 Interior becomes a British colony; coast remains protectorate.

  • 1930 Jomo Kenyatta goes to UK; stays 14 years.

  • 1944 Kenyan African Union (KAU) formed; Kenyatta returns to lead it.

  • 1952-1956 Mau Mau, Kikuyu-led violent campaign to restore African lands. State of emergency. 13,000 people killed.

  • 1953 KAU banned. Kenyatta jailed.

  • 1960 State of emergency ends. Tom Mboya and Oginga Odinga form KANU.

  • 1961 Kenyatta freed; takes up presidency of KANU.

  • 1963 KANU wins elections. Kenyatta prime minister. Full independence declared.

  • 1964 Republic of Kenya formed with Kenyatta as president and Odinga as vice-president.

  • 1966 Odinga defects to form Kenya People’s Union (KPU)

  • 1969 KANU is sole party to contests elections (also 1974). KANU Sec-Gen Tom Mboya assassinated. Unrest. KPU banned and Odinga arrested.

  • 1978 Kenyatta dies. Vice-President Daniel arap Moi succeeds him.

  • 1982 Kenya declared a one-party state. Opposition to Moi. Abortive air-force coup. Odinga Rearrested.

  • 1983 Election turnout under 50%.

  • 1986 Open ‘queue-voting’ replaces secret ballot in first stage of general elections. Other measures to extend Moi’s powers incite position.

  • 1987 Government acts to suppress opposition groups. Political arrests and human rights abuses attract overseas criticism.

  • 1988 Moi wins third term and extends his control over judiciary.

  • 1989 Finance Minister George Saioti replaces Vice-Pres J Karanja after corruption allegiations. Political prisoners freed.

  • 1990 Government implicated in deaths of Foreign Minister Report Ouko and Anglican archbishop. Riots. Odinga and others form FORD, which is outlawed by government.

  • 1991 Arrest of FORD leaders and attempts to stop pro-democracy demonstrations. Donors suspend aid. Moi agrees to introduce multiparty system. Ethnic violence on increase.

  • 1992 FORD splits into factions led by ex-minister Kenneth Matiba and Odinga. Opposition weakness helps Moi win December elections.
  • 1994 Odinga dies.


World Reference Atlas (teknologisk forlag)

Legg inn din oppgave!

Vi setter veldig stor pris på om dere gir en tekst til denne siden, uansett sjanger eller språk. Alt fra større prosjekter til små tekster. Bare slik kan skolesiden bli bedre!

Last opp stil